Click to Home

Go To Search
Home
RSSPrintEmail
Taxi & Towing
Mobility & Parking Services is the city department that regulates the city taxi and towing industries.

Fitness for Duty

 

Taxi Permits and Renewals

Requirements to be permitted to drive a taxi cab:

  • 18 years of age or older
  • Can not be convicted of operating a motor vehicle under the influence of intoxicating beverages or drugs within two years of application, or have been convicted of reckless driving within one year, or have been convicted of three or more of these offenses within three years of application, or have been convicted of any crime related to transporting persons for immoral purposes (prostitution, solicitation of prostitution, or any sex related offense), or have been convicted of, been on parole, probation or serve time on a sentence of a felony. A plea of nolo contendre to any of the offenses set out shall be deemed a conviction.
  • Be a citizen of the United States or alien admitted for permanent residence or who have otherwise been granted employment authorization by the United States Immigration Naturalization Services.
  • Must show that he has a current motor vehicle operator's license issued or approved by the State of Georgia, and that the license is not under suspension or revocation.
  • Must provide a current 7 year Motor Vehicle Report, no more than 90 days old
  • Must provide a current physical
  • Criminal/Background check required from Police Department, fee may apply
  • Taxi drivers are issued a 30-day temporary permit after submitting a 7-year driver’s history, doctor’s certificate, after a criminal history, background check has been completed and found in compliance. At which time, he/she has two chances to take the test and pass it within the 30-day period. If driver does not pass the test after the 2nd chance, permit is null and void.
  • $5 Drivers permit fee. 

Testing is administered are by appointment only.

To renew a Taxi Driver's permit:

  • $5 Driver's permit fee
  • Submit a Criminal/Background check required from Police Department, fee may apply
  • Must provide a certified 3 year Motor Vehicle Report, no more than 90 days old
  • Taxi Driver's permits expire on driver's DOB

Towing/Wrecker Permits & Renewal
Drivers Permit and Operating Standards

No person shall be issued a wrecker driver's permit under any one or more of the following conditions:

  • With a suspended or revoked State driver's license
  • With a habitual violator or "work" driver's permit
  • With a conviction during the preceding two years on any one or more of the following charges:
    • Driving a motor vehicle under the influence of alcohol or drugs
    • Failure to stop or render aid, or leaving the scene of an accident as specified under Georgia law
    • Any violation of law involving violence, theft, or any form of stealing, or any crime involving moral turpitude;
    • Within one year of completion of a prison term, probation, or parole for any felony conviction for a violent crime or crime of moral turpitude.

No person shall be allowed to operate a wrecker, in addition to the reasons set forth above, who is:

  • Under the influence of alcohol or drugs
  • In possession on his person or within a wrecker while on call under this contract of any opened or unopened container of beer, wine, liquor, or other alcoholic beverage, or drugs that would impair driving ability.

Minimum requirements to be permitted to operate a wrecker also include:

  • Must provide a current State driver's license
  • Must provide a 7 years Motor Vehicle Report
  • Must provide a current physical
  • Criminal/Background check required from Police Department, fee may apply
  • $5 driver's permit fee

To renew a permit, the following is required:

  • 3 year Motor Vehicle Report
  • $5 driver's permit fee
  • Criminal/Background check required from Police Department, fee may apply
  • Wrecker Permits expire on driver's DOB

For more information, call the Transportation Office at (912) 651-6468