Cultural Affairs Commission

2018 Cultural Affairs Commissioners

The Department of Cultural Affairs is comprised of 8 staff members and an 18-member Cultural Affairs Commission. The commission, appointed by the Mayor and Aldermen, meets every other month to review programming. In addition, the commission meets once a year to recommend purchases of cultural services from eligible arts organizations. (Pictured from top left row: Antwan Lang, Tanet U. Taharka-Myers, Kristopher Monroe, Andrea Hall-Houston, Kareem McMichael, Darren Bagley-Heath. Second row: Barbara Essig, Courtnay Papy, Brea Cali, Linda Wilder-Bryan, Patrick Kelsey.)

The Cultural Affairs Commission’s mission is to foster innovative programming and services as a means of increasing the diversity and the quality of available artistic, cultural, and historical offerings, of raising the community’s awareness of the benefits gained from such programs, and of ensuring that those sectors are used to enrich the quality of life within the City of Savannah.

With an eye to the future of this community’s arts, culture, and historical life, the Mayor and Aldermen passed an ordinance on June 14, 1979, that established the Cultural Arts Commission (formerly known as the Savannah Arts Council). Mayor and Council charged the Commission with the responsibility of advocating for the creation, the promotion, and the expansion of the arts, culture, and historical opportunities to be enjoyed by residents and visitors of Savannah. As envisioned by the Mayor and Aldermen, the Commission would voice the concerns, the needs, and the desires of Savannah, concerning art, culture, and history.

2019 Cultural Affairs Commissioners

Darren Bagley-Heath
Lisa Clark
Eddie Edenfield
Barbara Essig
Linda J. Evans
Andrea Hall-Houston
Janice James
Patrick Kelsey
Jan Kramer
Alix Laincy
Kareem McMichael
Kristopher Monroe
Courtnay Papy
Sue Ruby
Tanet U. Taharka-Myers
Anne Allen Westbrook
Linda Wilder-Bryan
Debra Zumstein

Youth Advisory Sub-Committee

Janice James
Andrea Hall-Houston
Darren Bagley-Heath
Tanet Taharka-Myers

Public Art Sub-Committee

Courtnay Papy
Sue Ruby
Kristopher Monroe

City priorities Sub-Committee

Patrick Kelsey
Janice James

Next Meeting

Cultural Affairs Commission Meeting
Wednesday, July 10, 2019
6:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Savannah Cultural Arts Center Conference Room
201 Montgomery Street, Savannah, GA 31401

Upcoming Meetings

6:00 p.m. - 7:30 p.m.
Location: Savannah Cultural Arts Center

Wednesday, September 11
Wednesday, November 13

Meeting Minutes

February 2017

June 2017

February 2018

April 2018

June 2018

August 2018

October 2018

December 2018

January 2019

Evaluation Forms

The following forms are for Cultural Affairs Commissioner use:

DOWNLOADABLE FORM: Commission Evaluation Form

Please note that the ONLINE FORM CANNOT be saved as an "in progress" document. The online form must be completed and submitted at the same time. If you wish to save your work, please use the downloadable PDF form above. For questions, contact the Cultural Resources Department at (912) 651-6783.

CLICK HERE to complete the Commission Evaluation Form ONLINE

Facebook Icon Opens in new window
IG Glyph Logo edited Opens in new window
Twitter Icon Opens in new window